MINUTES WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY AT PARKERSBURG BOARD OF GOVERNORS October 23, 2017

An emergency meeting of the West Virginia University at Parkersburg Board of Governors was held on Monday October 23, 2017, in the President's Board Room at the WVU Parkersburg Campus, beginning at 4:00 p.m. Board members present were: Sam Winans, Donna Smith, Steve Hardman, Jeff Matheny, Joe Oliverio, Jason Landers, Cheryl Donohoe, John Denbigh, John Hushion, Chris Cunningham, Cody Irick, and Austin Grimmett. Others present included Brady Whipkey.

Guests present included administrators, faculty, and staff.

1. Call to Order

Mr. Winans, Chair of the WVU at Parkersburg Board of Governors, called the meeting to order. Next Chairman Winans reported faculty member Chris Cunningham will be our new Board member serving as Faculty Representative and asked that Debbie Richards conduct the swearing in.

Debbie Richards, Special Assistant to the President, conducted the swearing in of new Board member Chris Cunningham.

2. Roll Call

Roll Call was taken by Brady Whipkey, Executive Assistant to the President, noting that a quorum was present.

3. Board Chair Report

Chairman Winans, stated that the Board of Governors had received a letter from President Lamkin requesting to terminate his contract due to accepting a position as President of Westminster College in Missouri where he previously served as President for seven years.

With no further discussion Chairman Winans asked for a motion to accept the request. To terminate the contract effective November 15, 2017. Mr. Denbigh moved to accept the termination request. Mr. Grimmett seconded the motion. Motion passed.

4. Executive Session under the authority of WV Code §6-9A-4-2A

Chairman Winans asked for a motion to move into Executive Session to discuss approval of an Interim President. Mr. Oliverio moved to adjourn to Executive Session. Mr. Grimmett seconded the motion. The motion passed and the Board moved into Executive Session at approximately 4:30 p.m.

Chairman Winans announced that the Board would return to the regular meeting at 5:15 p.m. Mr. Denbigh moved to return to regular session. Ms. Donohoe seconded the motion. Motion passed.

5. Action Item

Approval of Interim President
 Chairman Winans reported that the West Virginia University at Parkersburg would

like to offer Dr. Jane Milley the position of Interim President. She would serve in this position from November 15, 2017 to May 31, 2018 with the option to extend the contract if necessary due to the Presidential Search. Chairman Winans also informed the Board that the final approval of hiring Dr. Milley would be contingent upon approval of the proposed contract by the West Virginia Community and Technical College System at its meeting on Monday October 30, 2017. With no further discussion Chairman Winans requested a motion to approve.

Mr. Denbigh moved to approve the following resolution:

Resolved, That the West Virginia University at Parkersburg Board of Governors will approve the appointment of an Interim President.

Mr. Oliverio seconded the motion. The motion passed.

6. Board Comments/Announcements

Mr. Denbigh asked Chairman Winans if there is a timeline in place for the search and hire of the next President.

Chairman Winans stated that our Presidential search timeline is as follows:

November: Approve search procedures

Approve statement of characteristics/qualities for new President

Appoint search committee Recruitment process begins

December: Receive applications

• January: Committee identifies semi-finalists

February: Interview finalists

March: Make selection

• June: Start date

7. Next Meeting

Chairman Winans reported that the next meeting of the Board of Governors will be held on November 8, 2017, President's Board Room. The Board Retreat will be canceled and will proceed with a normal meeting schedule.

8. Adjournment

With no further business to be discussed, Chairman Winans adjourned the meeting. The next meeting will be held on November 8, 2017.

Respectfully submitted,

Brady Whipkey Executive Assistant to the President

Sam Winans, Chairman	
Steve Hardman, Secretary	