# MINUTES WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY AT PARKERSBURG BOARD OF GOVERNORS June 13, 2012

A regular meeting of the West Virginia University at Parkersburg Board of Governors was held by Conference Call and in the President's Conference Room at the WVU Parkersburg campus beginning at 3:00 p.m. Board members present were: Joe Campbell, Violet Mosser, Cheryl Donohoe, Jamie Six, Cindy Bullock, Curtis Miller, Rock Wilson, Greg Smith, and Loren Bell. Absent: were, Matthew Santer, Steve Chancey, and Gerard ElChaar. Others present included Dr. Marie Foster Gnage and Patsy Bee.

Guests present included administrators, faculty and staff.

#### 1. Call to Order

Mr. Campbell, Chair of the WVU at Parkersburg Board of Governors, called the meeting to order.

#### 2. Roll Call

Roll Call was taken by Patsy Bee, Executive Assistant to the President, noting that a quorum was present.

## 3. Board Chair Report

Chairman Campbell read a letter of appreciation from Chancellor Skidmore on the Honorary Bachelor of Arts he received from WVU Parkersburg at the May 2012 Commencement Ceremony. Mr. Campbell also reported on the meeting held at the Millwood National Guard facility regarding WVU Parkersburg's Partnership with the National Guard and the proposed facility on the main campus. Chairman Campbell noted that the next step will be to hold two or three user group meetings that will include faculty, staff, students, tourism, community and economic development, and local Legislators. These meetings will be held within the next 45 days.

Chairman Campbell opened the floor for additional nominations for officers to the Board of Governors for 2012-2013. With no further nominations, Ms Mosser moved that the nominations be closed. Ms. Bell seconded the motion. Motion passed. Next, Ms. Bell moved to approve the following Board officers for 2012-2013: Mr. Jamie Six, Chair; Mr. Gerard ElChaar, Vice Chair; and Ms. Cheryl Donohoe, Secretary. Ms. Mosser seconded the motion. Motion passed.

#### 4. Minutes

Minutes of the regular Board meeting scheduled on May 9, 2012 was approved upon a motion by Mr. Smith and second by Ms. Bullock.

Chairman Campbell requested that the Executive Session be moved to later in the meeting.

## 5. President's Report

President Gnage provided a written report to the Board that was sent to Board Members prior to the meeting.

## 6. Committee Reports

Executive Committee. The Executive Committee did not meet.

Audit Review Committee. The Audit Review Committee did not meet.

Administrative Services Committee. Administrative Service Committee did not meet.

<u>Academic and Student Services Committee</u>. The Academic and Student Services Committee did not meet.

<u>Campus Development Committee</u>. The Campus Development Committee did not meet.

#### 7. Action Items

There were no Action Items.

# 8. Consent Agenda

**Mr. Miller** moved to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

#### Institutional Compact Update for 2012-2013

Resolved, That the West Virginia University at Parkersburg Board of Governors approves the West Virginia University at Parkersburg Institutional Compact Update for 2012-2013.

Agreement and Rules of Engagement between West Virginia University at Parkersburg and WVU at Parkersburg Foundation, Inc.

Resolved, That the West Virginia University at Parkersburg Board of Governors approves the Agreement and Rules of Engagement between West Virginia University at Parkersburg and WVU at Parkersburg Foundation, Inc. for 2012-2013, as presented.

Revised Standards for Admission to Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education

Resolved, That the West Virginia University at Parkersburg Board of Governors approves the revisions in the standards for admission to the Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education as presented.

Ms. Bell seconded the motion. Motion passed

Chair Champbell noted that the Agreement and Roles of Engagement between WVU Parkersburg and WVU at Parkersburg Foundation will go before the Foundation Board at their next regular Board meeting for final approval.

#### 9. Information Items

## Faculty Promotion and Tenure Decisions

President Gnage announced to the Board the following faculty promotions for 2011-2012:

Doug Weaver, Professor
Jenny Dawkins, Professor
Rebecca Tucker, Associate Professor
Craig Rabatin, Associate Professor
S. Dianne Davis, Associate Professor
Mark Bruce, Associate Professor
Jeffrey Holland, Associate Professor
Kathy Frum, Associate Professor
Mikhail Styrt, Assistant Professor
Joyce, Stover, Assistant Professor
Amy Wolfe, Assistant Professor
Allison Sayre, Assistant Professor
Kelli Sprout, Assistant Professor
Barbara Tuell, Assistant Professor
Jeffrey Byrd, Assistant Professor

# 10. Executive Session under the authority of WV Code §6-9A-4-2A

Mr. Campbell entertained a motion to move into Executive Session to discuss the President's Goals for 2012-2013 and personnel matters. At approximately 3:25 p.m. Ms. Mosser moved to go into Executive Session. Ms. Bell seconded the motion. Motion passed.

At approximately 4:10 pm, Mr. Campbell entertained a motion to return from Executive Session. Ms. Bell moved to return to regular session. Ms. Mosser seconded the motion. Motion passed.

#### 11. Board Comments/Announcements

Chairman Campbell announced that just prior to today's meeting, President Gnage received a framed photo of the members of the AACC 21<sup>st</sup> Century Commission and letter from Arne Duncan, The United States Secretary of Education congratulating the work of the AACC 21<sup>st</sup> Century Commission in developing the report on *Reclaiming the American Dream*. The framed recognition will be placed in the President's Conference Room..

Chairman Campbell also announced that beginning July 1, 2012 a press release will go out announcing that President Gnage will be the Chair of the Board of Directors of the American Association of Community Colleges for 2012-2013.

Chairman Campbell announced that there may be a need to for a Special Board Meeting on July 18. A notice will be sent out confirming the meeting.

# 12. Adjournment

With no further business to be discussed, the meeting adjourned. The next regular meeting will be held on August 22, 2012.

Respectfully submitted,

	Patsy Bee Executive Assistant to the President
Joe D. Campbell, Chairman	
Jamie Six, Secretary	