WVU Parkersburg’s Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members

Print Friendly

West Virginia University at Parkersburg’s Sigma Omega chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society welcomed 13 new members for spring 2016. All members participated in a formal induction ceremony.

Students took the official oath of membership to uphold Phi Theta Kappa’s four hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship in the presence of their friends and family members. Dr. Fletcher Lamkin, president of WVU Parkersburg, served as guest speaker.

Phi Theta Kappa, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territorial possessions and eight sovereign nations. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually. Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

In order to be eligible for membership with the campus Sigma Omega chapter, students must be currently enrolled at WVU Parkersburg, have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average and have completed at least 12 credit hours of associate degree course work.

New members include:

Jennifer Irene Blosser
Mark Duane Boothe
Tara Beth Crooks
Brent J. Dotson
Evan J. Fordyce
Garrett Scott Gilkeson
Evan Alexander Napier
Sharon Marshall O’Neill
Kaitlin Emezetta Ritchie
Wesley Kyle Robinson
Vickie Carol Sargent
Elizabeth Annette Waters
Rebekah Suesann West


Posted in Academic Affairs, General News, Student Activities