WVU Parkersburg, WV Corrections Academy partner to offer college credit to officers

Print Friendly

Parkersburg, W.Va. 3/23/12 – Individuals who have completed basic correctional officer training can now be eligible to receive college credit thanks to an agreement signed today by the West Virginia Corrections Academy and West Virginia University at Parkersburg. The agreement allows those who complete the training to their on-the-job training as credit toward a degree at the certificate, associate or bachelor levels in the college’s criminal justice program.

To apply for credit, students must complete all application steps to the college and into the criminal justice program. Students must complete the entire correctional officer basic training course offered by the WV Department of Corrections to be eligible.

WVU Parkersburg’s criminal justice program has seen unprecedented growth in the last three years. Since 2009, the program has grown from 89 students to more than 300. The program now offers a fully-embedded career ladder, meaning that students can seamlessly move from a 30-hour degree certificate all the way up to a 120-hour bachelor’s degree without having to take extra coursework. Through advanced classroom learning coupled with hands-on training, students are prepared for careers in such fields as law enforcement, private investigation, border patrol and more.

“We are pleased to continue as well as expand on our strong ties to the West Virginia Corrections Academy,” said WVU Parkersburg senior vice president for academic affairs Rhonda Tracy. “Our career pathways model for the WVU Parkersburg Criminal Justice Program provides numerous opportunities for job preparedness and enhancement for Academy participants.”

The West Virginia Corrections Academy mission is to provide an aggressive training program to develop exemplary corrections professionals; enhance job performance; sharpen skills; and foster team spirit, professionalism, and integrity.

Posted in Academic Affairs, General News, Humanities, Fine Arts and Social Sciences Division