Phi Theta Kappa honor society at WVU Parkersburg inducts new members

Print Friendly

Parkersburg, W.Va. 5/1/12 – West Virginia University at Parkersburg’s Sigma Omega chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society conducted its spring induction ceremony Sunday, April 22 at the college’s Jackson County Center. The guest speaker was Joella Collins, a fellow student and PTK inductee. Advisors for the Sigma Omega chapter are faculty member Dianne Davis and staff member Violet Mosser.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society serving two-year colleges. Headquartered in Jackson, Miss., it is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,250 chapters on college campuses throughout the U.S., Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 100,000 students inducted annually.

Posted in Academic Affairs, General News