Outstanding students, Jan Dils Attorneys at Law honored at WVU Parkersburg ceremony

Print Friendly

art_students2015West Virginia University at Parkersburg recognized 65 students and one local business at its seventh annual Honors Ceremony on Friday, May 8 in the College Activities Center. This is the first year the college has honored a business partner. Jan Dils Attorneys at Law received the inaugural “Partner of the Year” award.

“The number of award-winning students has grown each year that we’ve hosted this ceremony,” said Anthony Underwood, vice president for student services. “It is impressive how many extraordinary students attend WVU Parkersburg, and it’s important that we honor them in a special way.”

Recognition categories included the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) awards; PTK All-West Virginia Academic Team; PTK New Century Scholar; Partner of the Year; Technical Student awards; Kappa Delta Pi awards; Outstanding Student for Career Services; Outstanding Contributions award; Student Nurse of the Year; Health and Wellness award; Veterans awards; Environmental Action Group awards; Journalism and Broadcasting awards; Above and Beyond


award; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) awards; Student Ambassador award; Delta Iota Omega awards; Athletic Club awards; Student Government Association awards; and Faculty, Staff and Adjunct Faculty awards.

Senta Goudy, WVU Parkersburg vice president for institutional advancement, presented the Partner of the Year award to Jan Dils.

“This partner is very special to us,” said Goudy. “The men and women of Jan Dils Attorneys at Law volunteer their time to organize the Walk4Vets fundraiser each year. Last fall, the firm generously donated all of the proceeds from the event to help WVU Parkersburg’s student veterans and our Veterans Resource Center.”

The complete list of award winners includes:

Above and Beyond Award

Heath Patterson

Adjunct Faculty of the Year

Phil McClung

PTK All USA West Virginia Academic Team

Debbie Crites

Charles Day

Sarah Stewart

Art Contributors

Angela Burns

Arneil Denmark

Hannah Duffield

Sommer Fields

Brandon Fleak

Dottie Bibbe Outstanding Journalism Student

Sheena Thorn

Excellence at the Student Veterans of America National Conference

Peshka Callaway

Justin Williamson

Christopher Speece

Faculty of the Year

Aaron Crites

Female Athlete of the Year

Carmen Cutlip

Golf Most Valuable Player (MVP)

Joel Davis

Health and Wellness Award

Michelle Reck

Jackson County Center (JCC) Adjunct Faculty of the Year

April Philbrook

JCC Faculty of the Year

Rebecca Tucker

JCC Staff of the Year

Angie Carmichael

Becky Scarberry

Journalism Leadership Award

Candice Hoalcraft

Kyle Nichols

Jump Right In Award, Environmental Action Group (EAG)

Bridgette Schoppe

Literacy Alive Event Chair, Kappa Delta Pi

Maria Klingshirn

Male Athlete of the Year

Mike Archer

Membership Chair Kappa Delta Pi

Sarah DuVall

Men’s Basketball MVP

Jeff Leftridge

Most Improved Player Table Tennis

James Liebau

New Century Scholar, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)

Sarah Stewart

Officer Team, PTK

Debbie Hart

Chelsea Johnson

Cara McIntyre

Daniel Najar

Outstanding Contributions

Annette Landis

Outstanding President, PTK

Daniel Najar

Outstanding Student for Career Services

Thomas Drennen

Outstanding Technical Student

Scott Bricker

Thomas Drennen

Pollinator Project, EAG

Daniel Najar

President EAG

Soumia Smiri

President of Kappa Delta Pi

Nikki Atkinson

Regional PTK Honors Chair

Debbie Crites

Secretary EAG

Morgan Haddox

Secretary Kappa Delta Pi

Emily Lehew

Service to Delta Iota Omega

Jennifer Blosser

Garrett Foggin

Cheyanna Powell

Robert Tate

Megan Westbrook

Student Government Association (SGA) Achievement Award

Brandon Cooper

SGA Member of the Year, Jackson County

Shana Thurston

SGA Member of the Year, Parkersburg

Chelsea Johnson

Soccer MVP

James Liebau

Staff of the Year

Kurt Klettner

STEM Award

Vanessa Baker

Judith Clinton

Erika Miller

William Shuman

Sticker of Excellence Award

Shalee Lathey

Student Ambassador

Michelle Reck

Student Nurse of the Year

Leslie Davis

Table Tennis MVP

Jason Workman

Technical Student, PTK

Chuck Landis

Evan Schoolcraft

Treasurer, EAG

Kristofer Dickerson

Treasurer, Kappa Delta Pi

Rachael Stotts

Vice President, EAG

Chelsea Johnson

Vice President, Kappa Delta Pi

Kyle Lancaster

Volleyball MVP

Erica Peck

Volunteer Extraordinaire, EAG

Sierra Delaney

Women’s Basketball MVP

Allison Flowers

WPKM Broadcast Award

Jeremy Harrison



Photo 1: Art students (alphabetically) – Angela Burns, Arneil Denmark, Hannah Duffield, Sommer Fields, Brandon Fleak, instructor Beth Cox

Photo 2: Honors2015, Partner of the year – VP for institutional advancement Senta Goudy, Jan Dils

Posted in Academic Affairs, Alumni, Foundation, General News, Student Services