Outstanding students honored at WVU Parkersburg ceremony

Print Friendly

West Virginia University at Parkersburg recognized 61 students and six faculty and staff members at its Student Honors Ceremony on Friday, April 29 in the College Activities Center. This is the eighth year WVU Parkersburg has had an Honors Ceremony for its students.

“We had a great turnout for this event,” said Dr. Fletcher Lamkin, WVU Parkersburg president. “It is impressive how many extraordinary students we have, and it’s important that we honor them in a special way.”

Recognition categories included the All USA WV Academic Team; Phi Theta Kappa Awards; Jackson County Center Awards; Degree Completion and Extended Learning Awards; Journalism Awards; Student Nurse of the Year; Kappa Delta Pi Awards; Veterans Resource Center Awards; Outstanding Chemistry Students; Collegiate Honor Choir Awards; Art Recognition Awards; Business Program Awards; Criminal Justice Awards; Environmental Action Group Awards; Reading Association Awards; Athletic Club Awards; Student Government Association Recognition Awards; and Faculty, Staff and Adjunct Faculty awards.

The complete list of award winners includes:

Adjunct Faculty of the Year
Greg Boso

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All USA West Virginia Academic Team
Bill Bell
Evan Fordyce

Art Award
Rachel Allen
Amanda Blankenship
Jeremy Cunningham
Brandon Fleak
Daryl Jackson
Linda Short
Macie Tenney

Birdfeeder Project Award
Breanna Cox

Criminal Justice Organization Office Team
Shasta Bennett (President)
Carrie Graffius (Secretary)
Rachel Morrison (Vice President)
Elizabeth Willey (Treasurer)

Collegiate Honor Choir Awards
Juliane Beckett
Austin Fields
Benjamin Houghton

Dottie Bibbe Outstanding Journalism Student
James Liebau

Early Admission Awards
Garrett Gilkeson

Environmental Action Group Awards
William Victory
Megan Westbrook

Faculty of the Year
Andrew Rochus

First Place Paper for WVCJEA
Cheyanna Powell

Helping Hand Award
Shana Thurston

HIA Project Coordinator
Leah LaPrade

Highest Score on MFT Award
Jeff Ellison

Jackson County Center (JCC) Adjunct Faculty of the Year
April Philbrook

JCC Faculty of the Year
Joyce Stover

JCC Staff of the Year
Angie Carmichael

Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) Literacy Alive Coordinator
Emily Carney

KDP Office Team
Bill Bell (Membership Chair)
Andra Brearton (President)
Brittany Morgan (Vice President)
Madison Slone (Secretary)
Ashley Wood (Treasurer)

Life Long Learner Award
Sharon O’Neil

Literary Association President
Goldy Bailey
Tara Crooks

Never Give Up Award
Khalid Haider

Organizer Extraordinaire Award
Cristy Hanlon

Outstanding Academic Achievement
Jason Floyd
Nozanin Rakhmatova
Macie Tenney
Katelyn Fox

Outstanding Chemistry Students
Kelsey Johnson
Kimberly Lipscomb
Jessica Gainer

Outstanding Chemistry Tutor
Rachael Klimas

Outstanding Contributor Award
Annette Landis

Outstanding Student Award
Quinton Sells

PTK Competitive Edge
Bill Bell

PTK Fundraising Project Coordinator
Candace VanDenBroeke

PTK International President Candidate
Bill Bell

PTK Officer Team
Bill Bell
Katie Huff
Alese Scarbrough
Daniel Steele
Candace VanDenBroeke

PTK Regional HIA Coordinator
Vickie Sargent

Regional Distinguished Chapter Member
Leah LaPrade

Regional PTK Distinguished Chapter Officer
Bill Bell
Candace VanDenBroeke

Salute to Service Award
John Leithead

Scholastic Book Fair Coordinator
Sarah Duvall
Cassandra Hamilton

Staff of the Year
Marie Butler

Sticker of Excellence Award
Mackenzie Nestor

Student Nurse of the Year
Kathleen Parsons

Top Community Service Hours Award
Jerry Abston
Stacie Crane
Kelly Straley

You Got SWAG Award
Collin Hill

Posted in Academic Affairs, General News, Student Services