Print Friendly

West Virginia University at Parkersburg Timeline

1961 – The Parkersburg Branch of West Virginia University opens in an abandoned elementary school; 104 students enroll in classes.

1965 – Wood County citizens pass bond issue that, with matching federal funds, provides $3.6 million to build an educational complex on land provided by the Wood County Court.

1966 – The college’s name is changed to West Virginia University-Parkersburg Center.

1969- Construction is completed on campus complex on Route 47.

1971 – The institution becomes Parkersburg Community College following legislative action to create a comprehensive community college system for West Virginia of two free-standing community colleges.

1975 – The Jackson County Center opens in Ripley to serve Jackson, Mason and Roane counties.

1989 – The West Virginia Legislature establishes the college as West Virginia University at Parkersburg, a regional campus of West Virginia University.

1991 – WVU Parkersburg is accredited to offer baccalaureate degrees in Business Administration and Elementary Education; becomes only state community college accredited to offer bachelor’s degrees.

1999 – The Caperton Center for Applied Technology opens, featuring a unique partnership of public and higher education.

2001 - WVU Parkersburg begins offering a Bachelor of Applied Technology degree, the first in the state.

2004 – The College’s first female president and the sixth leader of the institution is selected.

2006 – WVU Parkersburg cited for its affordability with second lowest in-state tuition in the country.

2008 – WV legislation establishes new governance structure for state’s community colleges; WVU Parkersburg continues an association with WVU.

2010 – WVU Parkersburg continues to experience record enrollment; becomes fourth largest institution of higher education in WV.