About WVU Parkersburg

Print Friendly

West Virginia University at Parkersburg enrolls approximately 2,600 annual students in credit classes and additionally serves the community with non-credit classes, seminars, workforce development training, and workshops. Academic credits earned at WVU at Parkersburg are transferable to any institution in the West Virginia higher education state system as well as other accredited institutions throughout the country. WVU Parkersburg is the only public community and technical college in West Virginia accredited to offer baccalaureate degrees. The college’s primary service area consists of seven counties in West Virginia: Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt, and Wood.

WVU Parkersburg was founded in 1961 as the Parkersburg Branch of West Virginia University. In 1971, it became Parkersburg Community College, one of the state’s first comprehensive community colleges. The institution was renamed West Virginia University at Parkersburg and rejoined WVU as a regional campus in 1989. State legislation in 2008 created a statewide network of independently-accredited community and technical colleges, and, at this point, WVU Parkersburg became an independent institution while maintaining an affiliation with WVU. A guaranteed admission agreement allows students to complete their initial one to two years at WVU Parkersburg before moving on to complete select four-year programs at WVU. In 1974, the college established its Jackson County Center in Ripley.

WVU Parkersburg is under the jurisdiction of the West Virginia Community and Technical College System. WVU Parkersburg is governed locally by the WVU Parkersburg Board of Governors.

Questions or concerns about WVU Parkersburg’s accreditation status?
Please contact our accrediting agencies at:
Higher Learning Commission
West Virginia Community and Technical College System

Find us on
Visit Us On LinkedinVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Youtube